Electric Light Orchestra Songs, Albums, Bio & Reviews

Electric Light Orchestra (ELO) is a British rock band formed in 1970 by Jeff Lynne, Roy Wood, and Bev Bevan. They were known for blending rock and pop music with classical elements, using instruments like violins, cellos, and horns in their compositions. The band had a string of hits in the 1970s and 1980s, including “Mr. Blue Sky,” “Don’t Bring Me Down,” and “Evil Woman.” In this article, we will delve into the history of ELO, their albums, and their most notable songs.

History of Electric Light Orchestra

electric light orchestra

Electric Light Orchestra was formed in Birmingham, England, in 1970. The band’s original lineup consisted of Jeff Lynne (vocals, guitar), Roy Wood (vocals, guitar, cello, bass), and Bev Bevan (drums). Their self-titled debut album was released in 1971 and featured a fusion of rock and classical music. However, Roy Wood left the band after their second album, “ELO 2,” leading to Jeff Lynne becoming the band’s leader.

ELO’s third album, “On the Third Day,” was released in 1973 and featured the hit single “Showdown.” The band’s fourth album, “Eldorado,” was released in 1974 and was a concept album about a dreamer’s journey to a fantasy world. It included the hit single “Can’t Get It Out of My Head.”

In 1975, ELO released their most successful album, “Face the Music,” which included the hit singles “Evil Woman” and “Strange Magic.The band’s follow-up album, “A New World Record,” was released in 1976 and featured the hit singles “Telephone Line” and “Livin’ Thing.” ELO’s seventh album, “Out of the Blue,” was released in 1977 and became their best-selling album, with over 10 million copies sold worldwide. It included the hit singles “Mr. Blue Sky” and “Turn to Stone.”

ELO continued to release successful albums throughout the 1980s, including “Discovery” (1979), “Time” (1981), and “Secret Messages” (1983). However, the band’s popularity declined in the late 1980s, and they officially disbanded in 1986. Jeff Lynne continued to work on music projects and reformed ELO as Jeff Lynne’s ELO in 2014.

Electric Light Orchestra Albums

Electric Light Orchestra has released 13 studio albums, as well as several compilation albums and live albums. Here are the band’s studio albums:

  • Electric Light Orchestra (1971)
  • ELO 2 (1973)
  • On the Third Day (1973)
  • Eldorado (1974)
    Face the Music (1975)
  • A New World Record (1976)
  • Out of the Blue (1977)
  • Discovery (1979)
  • Xanadu (1980)
  • Time (1981)
  • Secret Messages (1983)
  • Balance of Power (1986)
  • From Out of Nowhere (2019)

Each of ELO’s albums has its unique sound and style, but they all feature the band’s signature blend of rock and classical music.

Read Also – Royalty-Free Music Download Sites for Content Creators

Electric Light Orchestra Songs

Electric Light Orchestra has released numerous hit singles throughout their career. Here are some of the band’s most popular songs:

  1. “Mr. Blue Sky” – from the album “Out of the Blue”
  2. “Don’t Bring Me Down” – from the album “Discovery.”
  3. “Evil Woman”
  4. “Livin’ Thing” – from the album “A New World Record”
  5. “Telephone Line” – from the album “A New World Record”
  6. “Can’t Get It Out of My Head” – from the album “Eldorado.”
  7. “Turn to Stone” – from the album “Out of the Blue.”
  8. “Sweet Talkin’ Woman” – from the album “Out of the Blue.”
  9. “Rockaria!” – from the album “A New World Record”
  10. “Hold on Tight” – from the album “Time.”

These songs showcase the range and versatility of ELO’s music, from the upbeat and catchy “Hold on Tight” to the epic and emotional “Mr. Blue Sky.”

Electric Light Orchestra Reviews

ELO has received critical acclaim throughout their career. Rolling Stone magazine called the band’s music “orchestral rock at its most lush and romantic,” while AllMusic praised their “imaginative, intricately crafted music.” The band has been inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and the UK Music Hall of Fame.

ELO’s music has also had a lasting impact on popular culture. Their songs have been featured in numerous movies and TV shows, including “Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2,” “American Hustle,” and “Stranger Things.”

Electric Light Orchestra Bio

Jeff Lynne, the founder and leader of the Electric Light Orchestra was born in Birmingham, England, in 1947. He began playing guitar at a young age and formed his first band, The Andicaps, in the early 1960s. Lynne later joined the band The Idle Race before forming ELO in 1970.

Roy Wood, one of the band’s original members, was born in Birmingham in 1946. He had previously been a member of the band The Move before forming ELO with Jeff Lynne and Bev Bevan.

Bev Bevan, the band’s drummer, was born in Birmingham in 1944. He had previously been a member of the band The Move before joining ELO.

Electric Light Orchestra has had numerous members throughout their career, including Richard Tandy (keyboards), Kelly Groucutt (bass), Mik Kaminski (violin), and Hugh McDowell (cello), among others.


Electric Light Orchestra is a band that has left a lasting impact on the world of rock and pop music. Their unique blend of rock and classical music, combined with Jeff Lynne’s distinctive vocals and songwriting, has made them one of the most beloved bands of all time. From their early albums like “Eldorado” and “Face the Music” to their later hits like “Don’t Bring Me Down” and “Hold on Tight,” ELO’s music has captivated audiences around the world. If you’re a rock and pop music fan, you owe it to yourself to explore the music of the Electric Light Orchestra.

Share This


Wordpress (0)